Why we are so afraid to talk face to face

In today’s day in age, so many people, especially people my age don’t know how to talk to someone face to face.  Or even over the phone.  It’s all texts and emails and instant messages with an emoticon instead of a real smile. Why is that?  The simple answer is that technology has  just advanced so much so it’s just more convenient.  And in some cases, yes it is.  But we have become too afraid to talk to someone in real life.  It may be because it’s too intimidating and too nerve-wracking to look them in the eye and just say what you need to say.

I’ve noticed this most when you want to confront someone or let them know that you have a problem with them.  You have that screen to hide behind in case things don’t go how you plan. It’s also much easier to come up with exactly what you want to say.  You have time to read the text and absorb it first.  You can show it to the people around you and say, “Look what this (insert choice expletive) said!” And you can then sit there and stew about what you just read.  You can throw your phone, get up and walk around, do whatever you need to do to get the creative juices flowing. I can’t count how many times I’ve walked away from an argument thinking of all the things I should have said but didn’t think of right away.  “Oh it would have been so perfect if I said this!” With texts, that doesn’t happen. You have the chance to think of the perfect zinger or the best logic to help your case.

Does this mean that my generation doesn’t know how to fight or argue in a healthy way? I know it’s something that I have a problem with.  For me though it was my self defense mechanisms not a fear of confrontation. But more and more I hear about text fights or about two people only “talking” through text messages.  I think it’s something that we could all improve on.

Give me some feedback!

