My favorite quotes explained day one

In an effort to really get back in the habit of actually writing everyday, regardless of my stress level, I decided that over the next week or so I’m going to take the time to explain why a specific quote is one of my favorites. I have about a million different favorite quotes so I’ll try to do some of the most interesting or less well known ones!

I do not have an author for this quote so whoever it is, you speak to me; even without a name. 

“I don’t want to waste another moment saying things that we never meant to say.”

Here’s my philosophy on fighting/arguing with a loved one, mainly a lover: While I understand that fighting, when not in excess, is necessary and also important to the relationship, and even though the making up after a fight may be awesome, I just don’t like to do it. Not that I don’t like to argue, I want to be a lawyer, I love arguing. I just don’t like to waste time being mad at someone when you could be spending that time being happy and kissing or doing something together. After you have your first fight with someone, there’s no going back. You see a different side of them and it’s generally not pretty, it can taint the view that you had of them and it’s something that will always be a part of them and something you can’t forget. 

That’s why I love this quote. Talk it out, get out your frustrations, but do your best not to say things you don’t mean. You can’t take it back. 

This is all important to me because I tend to be a little bit of a dirty fighter, and I hate it. I can’t help it though, it’s my defense mechanism. I will say or do whatever it takes to hurt you before you get the chance to hurt me. I get personal, I get deep, but I rarely get hurt. Or at least, I rarely let it show that I’m hurt. I’ve been working on this, and it has been a long time since I’ve delivered a really nasty blow to anyone, mainly because I choose not to fight about things as often. I just don’t see the point in petty arguments. 

I keep telling my boyfriend that he needs to get mad at me, not mad enough to break up with me, but just enough to make me take a step back and examine things. I’ve gotten mad at him but we haven’t really fought with each other. I try not to get really mad at small things so when I do get upset he knows that it’s a big deal to me and he generally just apologizes. I love this but I need to apologize for something right? Maybe I’m just crazy. 

Regardless, I think this quote gives a good message to everyone

 

Give me some feedback!

