Memories of Grandpa

The memories I have of my grandfather are fading. They are becoming fewer and farther between and it makes me incredibly sad when I think about it. 

I was only in fourth grade when he passed away. He never got to see me grow into the woman that I am today. I think he’d be proud, I hope so at least. There have been so many times when I’ve wanted to talk politics or current events with him. And I am envious of my sisters and older cousins who he got to know better. 

We watched home videos before Christmas and he was in them and he was so happy. My last few memories of him were when he was sick or he was angry. 

I do have happy memories, like when he would come over for dinner and would say, “There’s my girl!” when I walked in to greet him. Or when I would read to him overlooking his beautiful garden. 

Thank goodness for pictures. I will be able to remember what he looks like because of pictures. Unfortunately, pictures don’t replace memories. I just wish I had a little more time with him. Maybe then I could have been closer to him. 

I hope he’s proud and I hope that the memories I still do have stick with me. 

Give me some feedback!

