English and Thinking and Speaking, Oh my!

A description of my classes this semester:

E305: Principles of Writing and Rhetoric. 

The text book to this class looks like an encyclopedia. It’s thick with small print and full of big words. The teacher seems nice enough and spouts scholarly studies conducted at other universities. She then assigns a ridiculous amount of homework, most likely thinking that her class is the only class on our schedule and absolutely the most important class that CSU has to offer. 75 minutes twice a week at 9:30 in the morning. 

E287: American Literature

So far, this class isn’t as painful as British Literature that I took last semester. Except for of course, the girl that is only trying to impress the teacher and just rants about Hemingway for no apparent or relevant reason, annoying all the students in the class. However, like all teachers, this one made it very clear to us that “a passing read 15 minutes before class won’t cut it.” The last time I heard that I was able to write an entire paper about Beowulf after reading only the Introduction and still got an A on the paper. 50 minutes, three days a week. 

SPCM200: Public Speaking 

Although I wasn’t too excited to take this class, the teacher I have seems very laid back. He teaches the class using YouTube clips and movie scenes. Our first speech is to pick any scene from any movie and explain how it affected us in some way, in 2-3 minutes. It’s a pass/fail assignment but somehow I’m still worried about what I’m going to write and how to get my point across without getting too off topic. 

SPCM100: Communication and Pop Culture

I walked out of this class today thinking, “This is actually a fun class!” And it’s not even an elective, it’s actually a core class! The teacher seems nice and would rather discuss with the students than just stand and lecture at us. 

PHIL110: Logical and Critical Thinking

I just registered for this class so I have no idea what to expect. I emailed the professor asking what I should do to be prepared for class and Tuesday and still haven’t heard back. C’est la vie. 

Give me some feedback!

