I guess this is growing up

Lately I’ve found myself missing my childhood, and my family, a lot more than I ever have before. 

I always get nostalgic around the spring because I have so many good memories from my childhood that happened in the springtime. I also have had a tough week and quite simply yearn for simpler days. I always wanted to grow up and have the life that I have now. And while I love my life and am proud of where I am in my life, I just wish that I would have spent more time enjoying being young. 

I also miss my family a lot more. I always miss my dad, mainly because he is so similar to me.  He understands why I don’t just open up to anyone and is patient enough to wait until I open up to him. And of course, his hugs are always the best.  

However, I do miss my mom. I never wanted to tell my mom anything about my life and now I find myself calling her just to catch up or bitch about whatever is going on in my life. I want to watch “I Love Lucy” with her because she’s the only person I know who loves that show as much as me.  Almost every weekend I’ve been going to the stores that I would go to with her just for fun because it comforts me somehow now. I find myself wishing she was in the same city so I could call and invite her to come with me. And then I remind myself that when I finish school, hopefully I can move back to Denver and have the best of both worlds. I even added her on Facebook tonight. I know it may not seem like a big deal but the whole reason I never added her before was because I didn’t want her to know about what was going on in my life. But now she already knows what’s happening, and if she doesn’t it’s not like I have anything to hide. 

On that note though, I just hope she doesn’t comment on everything I write!

Whether I’m homesick or just nostalgic, I’m not depressed. I’m just dealing with it. Because that’s life, and there are lots of lucky people in the world going through the same thing. I just feel for those who don’t know what it’s like to miss their family or don’t have the opportunity to be close to their relatives. 

I’m a very lucky girl, for many, many reasons. Image

Give me some feedback!

