Missing Someone

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what it means to truly miss someone. We say it all the time and I think we all just take it as a sweet sentiment and go about our day, but I don’t think we take the time to stop and really think about why or what it is we miss about someone. 

To me, missing someone is the moment when you think to yourself, “I wish _____ was here.” It’s wanting to watch a show that you don’t necessarily love, but they do. Because it isn’t about what show you watch, it’s about the person you watch it with. It’s wanting that person to experience something you’re going through. It’s wanting to hear their specific voice say that one phrase that they know will reassure you. It’s missing the characteristics or traits about someone that you didn’t think you liked about them. It’s missing their sleeping face in the morning and their unexpected kisses. It’s just wanting them there. 

I was one of those people who had to try a long distance relationship, just to see if I could do it, if I was an LDR person. And looking back, I’m not sure if what I thought was “missing him” was really missing him at all. I think I missed having someone to be with, but I didn’t miss him specifically. I didn’t usually think, “This experience would be enhanced if ______ was here” except for maybe once in the entire relationship.

Missing someone suddenly seems more complicated than I once believed it to be. But at the same time, it’s so much simpler.

Well, now that I’ve thoroughly confused myself and my readers (at least the ones who I haven’t already lost at this point) I think it’s time to call it a night. The one that I have been missing will be home with me tonight and I hope to spend all the time with him possible.  

Give me some feedback!

