On Unconditional Love

We’ve all heard the phrase “unconditional love,” we’ve all used it. And if we are one of the lucky humans to have caring, loving families, we have probably experienced it. But what does it really look like in a relationship?

I used to think of it as, “If I gained 50 pounds and my face got horribly disfigured in an accident, would you still love me?” 

But lately I’ve been thinking of it more in terms of, “If I am an emotional train wreck, ridiculous to handle, weepy all the time, irrationally stressed out and just otherwise bitchy, will you still be able to love me?” 

Marilyn Monroe put it best when she said, “If a man can’t love me at my worst he sure as hell doesn’t deserve me at my best.” And that’s absolutely true. But we need to make sure that when we are at our worst, we don’t take advantage of the person/people who love us the most. 

Too often in today’s society we just give up when things get too hard; especially in regards to relationships. Now I’m not saying that we should never give up because there comes a point when the fight is no longer worth it, when each heart has taken enough abuse and tug-of-war games that the best thing to do is move on. But how long does it take us to get to that point? One fight doesn’t have to mean the end of a relationship. (Unless it’s physical and then by all means, please get out as soon as possible!)

I will be the first to admit that my insecurities could eat me alive. And they get the best of me more often than I would like. But they are in control less and less. And believe me I know how difficult I can be when the insecurities come lurking around. I feel completely unlovable, unworthy even. But you’re there to make it better. That’s new to me, I’m still learning how to handle that concept. But regardless, thank you. 

I know that I haven’t been the easiest person to be around lately, but I promise that I am getting better. And I promise that I will love you at your worst when that day comes. You’re the best guy to ever come into my life and my heart. And the only guy that has ever even been comparable to my daddy. 

Thank you for not giving up on me and thank you for loving me. 

2 thoughts on “On Unconditional Love

  1. Pingback: IF…. | Comfortably Numb

  2. Pingback: Two years already?? | Confessions of a Pre-Law Student

Give me some feedback!

