Why is Being in Love so Terrifying?

Being vulnerable is not my strongest suit. It’s like math, I don’t want to do it despite the fact that I really need to learn how to do it, and I’m going to need a lot of help to get it. 

I’m still very much in love with you. But I’ve never been so scared. 

Scared of losing you, scared of loving you too much, scared of accidentally hurting you, just scared. 

I know it doesn’t help that I’m at a point in my life where the future is terrifying to pretty much everyone, but thinking about all the possibilities that may or may not include you, makes it worse.

I’m a realist. I am very aware that we could still break up at any time. The thing that I’m most scared of is you waking up and wondering what you’re still doing with me. Or you staying with me just because you don’t want to hurt me. Because that would hurt even more. 

I’m scared of the fact that I can be so vulnerable with you. 

I’m scared that the day you leave I will be even more cold and heartless than ever. 

And I’m scared that I’m keeping you from someone better. 

2 thoughts on “Why is Being in Love so Terrifying?

  1. Maybe all of that fear, and the knowing that you could possibly lose them makes it that much better. If you knew you were going to get an A on a test, would you study for it anyways? No because you already knew that you were going to get an A but the fact that you don’t know makes you work for it and makes you appreciate it when you have it. Don’t be scared that you’re keeping them from someone better because right now, when they are with you, you are that someone better and you deserve to be happy just like them. Good Luck!

  2. Pingback: Two years already?? | Confessions of a Pre-Law Student

Give me some feedback!

