For the Students

This post is for all of my wonderful readers of course but especially aimed to any students reading.

For a minute, just stop looking at your to-do list.  Stop flipping through the pages of your planner.  Stop replying to emails from professors, managers, etc. Stop thinking about all the things you have to catch up on. Stop.

Breathe.

Go to sleep.

Drink some water.

Eat something. (Preferably healthy, but hey, I can’t judge.)

Work out.

Take care of yourself.

I know how stressful it is.  I have two jobs and a full schedule. A cat, a roommate, a boyfriend and a family. I am behind in almost all of my classes. I haven’t had a full 8 hours of sleep in weeks. I barely have time to eat. But we all need to stop.  Take a minute and just relax.

I can hear that voice in my head already: “I don’t have time to do all that. I can’t relax. I will relax when it’s done.”

Shut that voice up.

You owe it to yourself to take a breather. And honestly, you probably owe it to those around you.  I know I am not a fun person to be around when I’m stressed or tired and I am entirely grateful to those who put up with me, but I need to show them that too.

If you aren’t taking care of yourself, you will be half-assing most of the tasks that are stressing you out anyways.

Coffee is not a substitute for a good night’s sleep.  Neither is Redbull. Coffee isn’t a substitute for anything.

If you have a headache from reading or writing all day.  Stop. Take a walk, do yoga, go for a run. Do something that will let you release some energy.

You are doing great things. So treat yourself like you are.

Everything will be okay, it will all get done eventually.  (And if not, at least prioritize.)

Breathe.

2 thoughts on “For the Students

  1. Pingback: Two years already?? | Confessions of a Pre-Law Student

  2. Pingback: What One Year of “Adulting” has Taught Me – Confessions of a 20-something

Give me some feedback!

