Sisters

Thanks to Thought Catalog for this inspiring quote from their post “33 Inspiring Reason Why You Should Write More.”

“In fact, I’ll even go so far as to say please write, because I promise you that there’s someone out there who’s dying to hear what you have to say, someone whose life might be changed by whatever sentiment you’re about to commit to paper or screen or cardboard-back-of-the-cereal-box. Write because you are the only person who has lived your particular life, and this has shaped your thoughts in such a way that you are the only one on this planet capable of expressing a thought in your own particular way.”

 

With that, I will say, as much as I love writing, I have lacked time and inspiration lately and I apologize for that. However, today’s post is about sisters.

Yesterday, my older sister Heather called me. Now to be honest, I am generally closer to my sister Theresa, the oldest of the three of us, but whatever.

Anyways. I got a call from Heather and assumed it was about my car, since she has been using it lately.  But I could hear in her voice that she was upset. I asked her what was wrong and in true Miller girl form she said, “Nothing” while clearly crying. She admitted that she was emotional lately and that a country song made her miss our Grandpa, who passed away over ten years ago but is still missed dearly everyday. However, the part that really got me and touched me was when she explained why she thought about me.  She said she heard Sara Bareilles’ song “Brave” and thought of me. First it was about being brave and me going for my dreams, and then she said she thought about how brave I am being in my relationship, especially compared to how I was in the past.  She said she thought about my wedding and got emotional. I was so touched. And frankly, I was honored that she called me when she was upset, considering we’re not as close as we could be.

I got to talk to my other sister, Theresa that day as well. We are going to P!nk’s concert this weekend and we are so excited!

Talking to both of them made me realize two things:

1. I miss my sisters, as well as the rest of my family.

2. I am really lucky, not only to have sisters, but to have sisters as great as mine.  I mean, we have been there for each other through thick and thin, despite all the fights and disagreements that we have had over the years, we can always count on each other. That’s pretty special.

If any of you have sisters, be grateful for them. Tell them that you miss them or that you care. And don’t take the relationship for granted. Make amends if you have to.  It is worth it.

I know they make us crazy, but sisters may be the best thing about a family.

One thought on “Sisters

  1. Pingback: Sisters | Marly And June

Give me some feedback!

