Welcome 2014

Well here it goes, the new years day post and reflections of 2013.

If I had to sum it up, I would say 2013 was the year of opportunities. For my life, for my relationships and for growth. The opportunity to take a situation that is not ideal and learning from it and turning it into something more positive is a skill that I have worked on perfecting this year.

At the beginning of 2013, I decorated a jar and labeled it 2013 memories. Throughout the year, I wrote down when I had a good day or felt something was really special on a slip of paper and put it in the jar. Today I went through that jar. Almost half of those slips of paper had something to do with my wonderful boyfriend. Half was about my family and the others were random, good things that happened. (With the highlights apparently being seeing P!nk live and getting a new roommate as they were in there twice.) It really helped me focus on the good things that happened, I had to really think about any of the low points in the year. There were a few, but having all the positives written down helps to overpower the negatives.

After spending a wonderful night with my boyfriend for New Years Eve and having an even better year, I can’t help but think about how lucky I am. To have a family that I’m close with, parents that are still in love, sisters that love me, friends to comfort me, an education, a healthy cat for company, a roof over my head, foot in my belly, clothes on my back, money in my bank account (most times) and of course, a boyfriend that loves me and makes me feel beautiful every day.

I hope 2014 brings you everything you want and deserve.

Give me some feedback!

