Fight with me

Fight with me. Show me that you care. Lock us both in a room and don’t let either of us leave until it’s settled. Really settled. To the point where we will never repeat the same fight twice. Tell me when I mess up. Tell me when you’re upset. The minute you stop fighting, you stop caring. If you don’t fight, you can’t fix it. Put in the effort to improve this. Make me own up to my mistakes, my failures, my insecurities. I will do the same for you because I want this to work. I want us to be our best selves in this relationship but we can’t do that if we don’t fight sometimes. Make me understand what makes you mad. Help me understand where I can improve.

Too many relationships of all kinds I have given up fighting for. Because I didn’t care enough. I didn’t want to put in the energy and the effort to fight. I didn’t want to lose face because I had already lost faith. I don’t want to ever give up on you or on us so show me that you won’t either. Don’t be afraid to be mad at me. When someone you care so much about is truly upset with you it is humbling. Just not so mad that you leave.

Fight fairly. Don’t bring up past issues, insecurities or low blows. Fight with a purpose. Communicate. Even when it’s uncomfortable or uneasy. One of the best ways to heal is simply getting everything out and if you live bitterly, you live a lonely existence. 

One thought on “Fight with me

  1. Pingback: Two years already?? | Confessions of a Pre-Law Student

Give me some feedback!

