Four short years later…

Four short years ago, I came to college knowing exactly what I wanted to do.

And four short years later, I am leaving college with no idea of what I want to do.

Four short years ago, I packed up my childhood bedroom and started this journey. I was going to a town I was unfamiliar with and leaving all my friends and family behind for people who were strangers. I had a dream and plans to make that dream a reality.

Four short years later, I am packing up my first apartment and starting a new journey. I am going into a world I am fairly unfamiliar with and trying desperately to hold on to the friends I have made in this process. I have many dreams and very few plans to make them realities.

Four short years ago, I had a boy in my life who I thought was so great. He was mysterious and rebellious. And ultimately, he made me feel like shit. He was never in the wrong and somehow everything came back to my insecurities. The insecurities that he only worsened with his behavior and attitudes.

Four short years later, I have a man in my life who is downright amazing. He is kind and warm-hearted. And ultimately, he makes me feel like I am worthy. He recognizes when he is in the wrong and forgives me when I am. He tries to ease my insecurities and understands that I have scars and imperfections.

Four short years ago, I never thought to worry about my parents. They were old, yes, but they weren’t aging. They were there to worry about me.

Four short years later, I have learned to sometimes worry about my parents. They are old, yes, and they too are aging. As I am growing up, they are growing old. And I have learned to appreciate them so much more than I ever could have before.

Four short years ago, I was a different person than I am today.

Four short years later, I am a better person. I have grown as a writer and as a woman. I am less judgmental and less self-absorbed. I am more empathetic, more attuned to others, and even more eager to learn about the world around me.

For short years have passed and I am a better version of myself than I was then.

One thought on “Four short years later…

  1. Pingback: Fort Collins, CO | Confessions of a 20-something

Give me some feedback!

